TheRecentTimes

Stay tuned, Stay updated

Disney+ Obi-Wan Kenobi’s release date and time Confirmed

3 min read
Obi-Wan

Disney

Advertisement

Return to a galaxy far, far away by watching the Obi-Wan Kenobi series on Disney Plus, which stars Ewan McGregor as the Jedi knight in hiding. Hayden Christensen also returns to the Star Wars universe as Anakin Skywalker, aka Darth Vader, Kenobi’s former apprentice.

McGregor portrayed Obi-Wan Kenobi, a younger version of Alex Guinness’ character in the original Star Wars films, in the prequel trilogy. The series has been in development at Disney Plus for years under the direction of writer/director Deborah Chow, who has also directed two episodes of The Mandalorian.

The show is set ten years after Revenge of the Sith, or roughly nine years before Episode IV: A New Hope. Most Jedi have been killed by the Empire, though a few remain in hiding. Kenobi is one of them, and he has chosen Tatooine to keep an eye on young Luke Skywalker. However, Vader leads a group of dark side Force users known as Inquisitors in their hunt for any remaining Jedi, with a particular focus on his former master. Learn more about the Obi-Wan Kenobi cast and characters in our Obi-Wan Kenobi character guide.

Advertisement
Obi-Wan
Photo: Lucasfilm

Disney+ release date and time for Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi will make his Disney+ debut on Friday, May 27th, 2022 at midnight Pacific Time in the United States.

The series was supposed to arrive on May 25th, 45 years to the day after A New Hope was released, but that date was pushed back two days to May 27th.

The new series, like most Disney+ releases, will premiere at the same time around the world, which translates to:

  • 12 am PT in the US
  • 3 am ET in the US
  • 8 am BST in the UK
  • 9 am CEST in Europe
  • 12:30 pm IST in India
  • 5 pm AEST in Sydney, Australia

This means that fans in the United States may have to stay up late if they want to watch the series as soon as it airs, whereas Australian viewers can watch at their leisure in the evening.

Advertisement

How many episodes are there in total?

Six episodes will be devoted to Obi-Wan Kenobi. In comparison to the other live-action Star Wars series on Disney+, The Mandalorian, and The Book of Boba Fett, Obi-Wan Kenobi is the shortest entry so far.

To compensate for its shorter length, Star Wars fans will be able to watch the first two chapters in one sitting, as Episodes 1 and 2 will both be released on May 27th.

Obi-Wan Kenobi’s return to Wednesdays after its initial Friday release means that it will overlap with one of Disney+’s MCU series, Ms Marvel, which begins on June 8th.

An overlapping release was unavoidable as Disney+ fills up with new shows, but it will be interesting to see how the release schedule affects both shows.

Source: HITC

Advertisement

Ankita Khanrah is a second-year student of the Master of Communication and Journalism (Integrated) programme at the School of Mass Communication, KIIT Deemed University, Bhubaneswar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *